Hallowe’en Thrills!

Hallowe’en!

My favourite time of the year. I enjoy it more than Christmas and Easter combined. It may not be a holiday with a day off work and school, but I think it should be. The days leading up to Hallowe’en fill me with excitement and anticipation of what will be in store.

In real life, I enjoy going to my local amusement park to partake in the scares they have conjured up for the night. I prepare my viewing list of movies that are sure to make the tiny hairs on the back of my neck stand up. I look for a new movie to add to the growing list of old loves.

I will admit I have watched some terrible movies that really should not be placed in the horror genera. Let’s be honest some Hallowe’en, scare the living soul out of  you, movies that are being passed as scary really are mediocre today. Hollywood should be ashamed of themselves for passing off such drivel. But I digress.

Hallowe’en’s festivities were rather disappointing this year. I did not get to visit my local haunt because of the baby in the house being tethered to my hip at all waking hours (I have come to accept that I am a Mombie as the hilarious parody on YouTube suggests). I also blame the weather of it rained all day, more like poured and in some unfortunate areas they got snow. The kids were not out in full force.

I did not get to see the creepy costumes of the older kids nor did I buy a costume this year. I kept it rather mild mannered. I cannot wait for my youngest to grow up a little more and that way I can once more partake in the screams and scares of Hallowe’en.

In Second Life though, I got down with my scary self. I dressed as Dracula’s Bride and ventured into a Nightmare. I decided to take a risk with the destination guide in my viewer and explore one of the Hallowe’en locations that was being highlighted. I not only did the maze once, but twice to recapture the  moment to share. Sadly for some reason some of my pictures have gone awol and I cannot find them.

If you are quick you could perhaps catch this thrilling maze before it is removed Return of the Nightmare.

Upon landing in the sim, you are faced with a large hole... do you dare follow the rabbit?
Upon landing in the sim, you are faced with a large hole… do you dare follow the rabbit?
Rules of entry. I suggest for the best thrill you do as the rules state.
Rules of entry. I suggest for the best thrill you do as the rules state.
You are first greeted by a dark foggy tunnel.
You are first greeted by a dark foggy tunnel.
I turned up the lighting to show you the chandelier and the door at the end of the tunnel.
I turned up the lighting to show you the chandelier and the door at the end of the tunnel.
Left or right, which entrance will you choose.
Left or right, which entrance will you choose.
Upon entering on the left you are greeted by the person on the floor and hanging selections of meat.
What is hanging in the distance among the slabs of animal carcasses?
What is hanging in the distance among the slabs of animal carcasses?
Flickering lights reveal something occurred in this very room.
Flickering lights reveal something occurred in this very room.
A gloomy courtyard.
A gloomy courtyard.
A warehouse of sorts? (again I turned up the lighting to capture this image)
A warehouse of sorts? (again I turned up the lighting to capture this image)
Follow the stairs and come upon more blood on the floor and walls.
Follow the stairs and come upon more blood on the floor and walls.
The entrance way into the Circus canopy. If you are not careful the paintings will get you.
The entrance way into the Circus canopy. If you are not careful the paintings will get you.
The morbid clown.
The morbid clown.
The carousel.
The carousel.
A walk among the sewers.
A walk among the sewers.
Mayhem in the child's bedroom.
Mayhem in the child’s bedroom.
In the child's bedroom is what appears to be an apparition of some poor person.
In the child’s bedroom is what appears to be an apparition of some poor person.
The floating bald girls.
The floating bald girls.
Psychedelic tunnel with decaying bodies everywhere.
Psychedelic tunnel with decaying bodies everywhere.
The creepy child and her bear. Did she do all of this?
The creepy child and her bear. Did she do all of this?
Another tunnel? Perhaps it is the way out?
Another tunnel? Perhaps it is the way out?
The smell of dank air became strong as I entered the garden maze.
The smell of dank air became strong as I entered the garden maze.
The trees have eyes. I hope you do not get lost in the maze.
The trees have eyes. I hope you do not get lost in the maze.

I will admit, I went back and visited the Nightmare again after I learned the other day that it was still open. It allowed for me to take the missing pictures for my collection.

May I suggest you pay it a visit before it is gone?

Leave a Reply

